George Hamilton DSA

The Pennsylvania Turfgrass Council Distinguished Service Award

The Pennsylvania Turfgrass Council Distinguished Service Award is presented as merited to individuals who have exhibited outstanding service to the turfgrass industry. The award is considered PTC’s highest individual honor and recipients are recognized by the membership in a formal ceremony at the Penn State Golf Turf Conference.

At its annual membership meeting on November 10, 2004, at State College, the PTC Board of Directors announced that the Distinguished Service Award was being renamed to memorialize Dr. George W. Hamilton, Jr., a leading professor and researcher in turfgrass management at Penn State, who died on July 9, 2004, after a courageous year-long battle with cancer. The newly named Dr. George Hamilton Distinguished Service Award will be available for presentation for the first time in 2005.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award include:

2014Andrew McNitt
2013Greg Fantuzzi
2012Thomas Bettle
2011Jerred Golden
2003Stanley J. Zontek
2001Winand K. Hock
2000George W. Hamilton, Jr.
1999George Morgan
1998Henry Meinert, Jr.
1997Peter J. Landschoot
1997Paul R. Heller
1995Charles Cadiz, Jr.
1993Christian Morup
1990Richard Valentine
1990R. William Marberger
1989Thomas L. Watschke
1988Donald V. Waddington
1984Bill Lyons
1982Wendell Ditmer
1982Alexander Radko
1981Arthur Wick
1979Warren Bidwell
1978Thomas Mascaro
1977John C. Harper, II
1976Herbert Cole, Jr.
1975Charles Hallowell
1974Eberhard Steiniger
1973Fred Grau
1972Leland Bull
1971Joe Duich

The Distinguished Service Award Committee is appointed each year by the PTC president and is comprised of a Chairman and three members chosen from the Board of Directors, general membership, and the Technical Advisory Committee. The Committee examines all nominations and related materials. Awards are presented at the discretion of the Committee and the PTC Board and are not presented every year.